Like cookies and cake? Too lazy to weigh everything out? Then look no further!
Today’s Vegan Friendly Find is Betty Crocker Sunny Lemon Cake Mix With Glaze!
Cake Mix (245g): Sugar, Wheat Flour, Palm Fat, Raising Agents: Sodium Bicarbonate, Monocalcium Phosphate; Modified Corn Starch, Salt, Emulsifiers: Propane-1,2-Diol Esters of Fatty Acids, Mono- and Diglycerides of Fatty Acids; Dextrose, Flavouring, Stabiliser: Xanthan Gum; Colour Curcumin; Citric Acid, Glaze Mix (50g): Sugar, Flavouring, Citric Acid
Firstly, I know what you’re thinking – “You said in previous blogs that due to deforestation and the extinction of several species of animals you were one of the many vegans that are currently avoiding palm oil.” ….And I am. However it gives me great pleasure to let you all know Betty Crocker (or General Mills) are one of the first big commercial companies to cave into our demands and publicly address the issue saying that:
“The company’s new policy respects Indigenous rights, protects rainforests and peatlands and sets a goal for sourcing 100 percent environmentally responsible palm oil by 2015.”
I take this as a victory, and as I know the company are now using sustainable and un-cruel methods, I can eat the palm oil and support their move (just as Sainsbury’s in the UK have done).
OK. So the Betty Crocker company is a bit of a vegan legend. Although the company itself is not vegan, they’ve written several vegan cookbooks and recipes aimed to make quick tasty vegan food for families.
As far as I’m concerned exposure such as this is great, as its gets ‘normal’ everyday families eating non meat meals, and even if this is just once a week – and if my maths is correct – then a family of four, over a year could save up to 208 servings of meat.
If you’re thinking what? The Betty company? Surely she means woman? No I do not and I’m going to blow your mind now.
There is no Betty Crocker.
‘Betty Crocker’ was made up to make the products seem more friendly by a woman named Marjorie Child Husted – the real Betty.
Ok history lesson over! Back to cakes!
Betty Crocker Mixes are designed to just add milk, eggs and butter and bake, so when you’re trying to find out if this product, thats designed to be used with animal products is vegan, it can be tricky – however the Betty Crocker website was tres helpful:
Basically just double up on oil, or use a banana as an egg substitute as we do.
After finding out that the emulsifiers used were from vegetable origin, it was just a case of a lot of googling! (Lots of E numbers and long ingredient names I had to check to see where they derived from) and I have concluded that based on the fact Betty’s products are labelled vegetarian – the E numbers in the ingredients come from plant, not animal sources.
PLEASE NOTE: There are undoubtedly more options available out on the market that are vegan friendly, and as Betty’s range and flavours widen – its only good news for us! Just make sure you google the E numbers if the packet does not say vegetarian, or if theres a ingredient you haven’t heard of look it up!
So if you’re like me and more of a taster than a chef, then cheat your way to vegan friendly cakes today, without the fuss and hassle of following recipes!