Today’s Vegan Friendly Find – Hershey’s Chocolate Flavour Syrup

Today’s Vegan Friendly Find links in really nicely with the yummy recipe Im about to upload, but don’t go expecting such organisation and seamlessness from all my posts!

So let me introduce to you the Vegan Friendly Find that is…

Hershey’s Chocolate Flavour Syrup.

20140220-193011.jpg

HERSHEY’S Chocolate Syrup is made from – High fructose corn syrup, corn syrup, water, cocoa, sugar, Emulsifier (xanthan Gum E45) Vanillin, artificial flavour and is reported as 100% Vegan.

There have been some debates online as wether the sugar and emulsifier used was vegan, however after a bit of research, I’ve discovered the Emulsifier used definitely is, and several blogs and forums have reported Hershey’s customer service claiming the product is vegan, so thats as good as a go for me!

This syrup is perfect for a pick me up treat – its good to make hot chocolate with soy milk, put in cakes, mix it with icing sugar to make frosting, great on vegan ice cream…. And of course…. DEEEE-LICIOUS with Benji’s Vegan American Style Pancakes! (Recipe to follow this post)

On a little bit of a serious note though, whilst doing my research (as I don’t want to be responsible for ANYONE eating ANYTHING thats not vegan) I found that the PETA site – http://www.petakids.com/accvegan.asp lists products they claim are ‘Vegan’ but at the bottom of the page it holds this disclaimer –

* Items listed may contain trace amounts of animal-derived ingredients. While PETA supports a strict adherence to veganism, we put the task of vigorously reducing animal suffering ahead of personal purity. Boycotting products that are 99.9 percent vegan sends manufacturers the message that there is no market for that particular food, which ends up hurting more animals. For a more detailed explanation of PETA’s position, please visit http://www.caringconsumer.com/labels.asp.

I’m not gonna lie, I feel a bit p*ssed off about this. Its organisations like PETA that I turn to to have the power and money to get the truth for its members.

If I wanted to eat something that was 90% Vegan, I would. When I’m searching for 100% vegan products I don’t expect to be conned into supporting a product or company who aren’t actually vegan.

I get their argument I really do, but their moral standpoint comes at the price of our own.

What do you think?

Leave a Reply

