Today’s Vegan Friendly Find – Doritos; Chilli Heatwave Flavour Crisps

Todays Vegan Friendly Find is the only thing I KNOW I could eat for 72+ hours without getting sick of them.

Its the Doritos Chilli Heatwave Flavour Crisps:

20140223-214418.jpg

Ingredients according to the Doritos website: Corn (Whole Maize Kernels),Sunflower Oil (14%) ,Rapeseed Oil ,Chilli Heatwave Flavour [Sugar, Flavourings (contains SOYA, WHEAT), Flavour Enhancers (Monosodium Glutamate, Disodium 5’Ribonucleotide), SOY SAUCE POWDER (contains SOYA BEANS, WHEAT), Acidity Regulator (Sodium Diacetate), Salt, Potassium Chloride, HYDROLYSED SOYA PROTEIN, Colours (Sulphite Ammonia Caramel, Paprika Extract, Beetroot Powder), Citric Acid, Malic Acid] ,Rapeseed Oil, Contains: Wheat, Gluten, Soya.

Yay!!! …

Now how do I know I can eat this and only this for 72 hours? …Picture the scene, its raining, we have £42.50 in our pockets and me and my then boyfriend (now husband) decide to go camping. I swear this product alone kept me from starving to death very dramatically on those 72 hours of doom.

We decided to catch a bus from Bath to Sidmouth in the UK – but to save money we would buy a day pass that means instead of a one, 4 hour journey, we take 5 busses and two days to get there!

I swear, we stopped at every town, at every stop, with people getting on and off every single time along the way.

It was romantic at first, but after 7 hours on this bus, it got tedious to say the least. Eventually we stopped off for the night in Tiverton – about 2 hours from our destination, and headed to the local Tesco and looked for food we didn’t have to cook.

Now vegans you know my pain here, unless you’re going to munch down on a salad and some nuts (which seemed too stereotypical seeing as I was carrying a tent and sleeping bags on my back like some Glastonbury hippy) you’re pretty screwed.

Perusing the crisp aisle I was delighted to find these bad boys were not only vegan, but on special offer, and armed with some vegan friendly sliced bread, I had the feast of kings – the crisp sandwich. And all for the sum of £3.00ish!

We camped down for the night in the most uneven and noisy field I have ever experienced in my life. Cows tried to intimidate us (successfully) and a pheasant nearly ripped a hole in our tent whilst screaming from the top of its lungs. And it rained. A lot.

My face says it all here.

20140223-220559.jpg

Needless to say, the next day the Doritos kept me going; breakfast, lunch and then dinner! Through the rain, the walking, the lack of money and the bus journeys – which, if you’ve ever been to England and been on pubic transport system means a lot!

We got to our destination eventually though, and guys, it was beautiful.

20140223-220609.jpg

So dip away guilt free, scrunch, crunch and much those crisp sandwiches, and have a spicy treat the next time you go shopping.

I also recommend using theses beauties with a three bean chilli recipe – to accompany the rice, or crushed into pieces and sprinkled on a salad for texture – they make excellent croutons.

2 thoughts on “Today’s Vegan Friendly Find – Doritos; Chilli Heatwave Flavour Crisps

  1. One – YES! Yes they are! so tasty and take you right back to childhood! Two – I felt like the saddest little thing in the world that night, I was sure we were going to be killed! Three – No camera ninja needed Leah, I have wrists – they twist and let me take photos of the back of my head! x

Leave a Reply

