Vegan Friendly Recipe – Easter Biscuits!

Tis the season and all!

Heres my really super- dooper easy, one bowl Vegan Friendly Easter Biscuit Recipe!

20140414-210040.jpg

200 g Vegan butter (I used Vitalite) at room temperature
200 g sugar – make sure your Sugar is vegan friendly! (I used 100g SilverSpoon’s Caster sugar and 100 g pure Demerara sugar to add a caramelised taste.)
1 tablespoon olive oil,
400 g plain white flour
100 g raisins – or as many/few as you want.
A pinch of salt
2 teaspoons mixed spice – essentially this is what makes them Eastery!
4 tablespoons Soy milk

Ok I experimented with this batch to make it easier for you all! Aren’t I nice!

Basically I made one batch without raisins, one with, and all at different temperatures and times! And I’d like to think out of all this effort, I’ve got the perfect Vegan Easter Biscuit recipe for you all to chomp on next Sunday.

20140414-210335.jpg

So here we go!

Preheat the oven to 180 deg.

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until soft and fluffy.

Add your tablespoon of oil, and fold in the flour, raisins (or not if you don’t like them) mixed spice and salt and mix all together.

Add up to 4 tablespoons soy milk to bind the mixture together and to form a firm but soft dough.

Place the dough onto a lightly floured surface, and roll out to about 1/4 inch thick (1/2 cm). You’ll find the dough sticky, so don’t be afraid to use lots of flour on your rolling pin!

Cut out circles with a large cutter/ cup and use a fish slice to transfer them to a very lightly oiled sheet of oven proof paper so that your biscuits don’t stick.

Bake for 8 minutes, then remove from the oven and sprinkle with a little sugar. Put back in the oven and cook for a further 8 minutes until golden brown.

Take out and cool on a wire cooling rack – This is essential! If you cool on a plate they will go soggy!

Wait till cool and crisp and then decorate as desired.

Enjoy everyone! And let me know how you get on!

5 thoughts on “Vegan Friendly Recipe – Easter Biscuits!

  1. This is a great recipe, thanks so much for posting! I’ve been vegan for less than a year so this is my first vegan Easter, and I’m really glad I don’t have to miss out out on lovely spicy Easter biscuits. Actually I’ll probably add a bit more spice next time, but I do like them really spicy. It’s such an easy recipe; I whipped up a batch in half an hour before we had to hit the road for a family Easter gathering.
    Thank you again, I’d highly recommend this recipe to anyone!

Leave a Reply

