5

UNFRIENDLY VEGAN FIND – Subway Veggie Patty

Sometimes these are going to pop up – as I’m learning along with you guys.

Today’s Unfriendly Vegan Find – Subway Veggie Patties

 

veggie-patty-sub-main_ef81

When I was a University Student and fairly new to Veganism, I visited my local Subway and inquired what was OK for me to eat.

The guy and girl behind the counter seemed really knowledgeable and told me what breads had dairy in them and what to avoid

They then told me that the product – Veggie Patty was suitable for vegans, as its held together with rice and oil, not dairy.

Looking back I was stupid and naive and should have gone back and checked this online, but I didn’t, and I continued to eat them.

When researching for my latest post about vegan chain options I was in the middle of writing how fabulous it is to have ‘an option’ at Subway and not just a vegetable sandwich when I stumbled across the ingredients.

Sure enough, they contain egg.

To be honest with you I feel really stupid and pretty sick. I mean how ridiculous of me not to check it? I check everything else in my life!

So yes. Lesson learnt. Subway Veggie Patties – Unfriendly Vegan Find.

I’m sure most of you know this, and don’t listen to the people who clearly don’t know that vegan means no eggs too. But I thought I would pop this up, just in case any of you like me have been told they are suitable for vegans.

We can but hope that Subway will one day modify this recipe so that we can enjoy it too!

Advertisements
0

Today’s Vegan Friendly Find – Mentos!

I can only apologies at how long it’s been since I last posted on here – but to be fair I have been very busy trying to save three lovely stray dogs in the Middle East! (More about that later!) So you can’t be to mad!

Last time I posted I promised to put my Top 5 chain restaurants and believe me, I have been eating out A LOT (I blame all of you for the weight gain of course!) So I will post that up soon.

But for today to ease us all back into this blogging malarkey – something simple, sweet and classic.

Today’s Vegan Friendly Find is Mentos!

mentos_chewy_dragee

It’s hard to find a readily available sweet that you can just pick up and munch on, so these are a god send! (Especially to anyone with low blood sugar or as a snack at the cinema)

Plus! As I use Lush Vegan Toothy Tabs instead of traditional Toothpaste so I’m always paranoid I have smelly breath, so pop a packet of mint in your bag and you’re good to go!

From my research – The flavoured mentos (mixed fruit) have sugar, glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, gellan gum, dextrin, natural and artificial flavor, gum arabic, and coloring inside/outside of it. (All Vegan friendly)

Mint mentos have almost the same ingredients except it has corn starch in it.

As per norm – the sugar used is from an unknown source – Some of you might be ok with this, others not. The choice is yours people! I will email and ask, but they don’t tend to get back to me in any rush.

I’ve been warned that some Mentos contain beeswax from different countries , so watch your labels!

Mentos say “The wax in the Mentos products which are imported and distributed by Stuart Alexander & Co. is carnauba wax which is derived from the palm tree.

We are not able to answer questions for Mentos products which do not state that they are imported and distributed by our company.”

Happy munching!