Vegan Friendly Find – Jus Roll Pastry

I’m a lazy cook. I’m not making pastry… and now you don’t have to either!

Jus-roll pastry is Vegan!

imageHandler.ashx

Here’s what it says on their website: http://www.jusrol.co.uk/askjanet.aspx

Which products are suitable for Vegans?
All Jus-Rol Ingredient Pastry is suitable for vegans except our All Butter and Sweet Shortcrust products which contain butter.

That means a whole world of tarts, puffs, pies and party treats have just become a whole lot easier!

The only issue I can find is one that Jus Roll contains Palm Oil – HOWEVER they claim to use sustainable Palm Oil in cooperation with the RSPO (http://www.rspo.org/) this seems like a go to me – but I couldn’t help notice a tweet that made me think the RSPO might just be a marketing front:

Untitled

(https://twitter.com/maryrayner/status/315492905823379456)

Either way it’s up to you guys – the product is vegan 100% – it’s just the ethics behind it might not be so ethical.

Let me know if you know whether the RSPO is doing good work or not – then I can get baking too!

Leave a Reply

