Vegan Friendly Find – Johnny Rocket Streamliner Burger

FINALLY a burger from a burger chain that is actually vegan.

Ok here’s the details and below my thoughts:

Note – it’s sometimes called a ‘streamliner’ sometimes a ‘Boca burger’:

Boca JR

Veggie Burger (Soy Boca® Burger) ingredients:

Water, soy protein concentrate, wheat gluten, contains Less Than 2% of methylcellulose, salt, caramel colour, dried onions, yeast extract, sesame oil, hydrolysed wheat protein, natural and artificial flavour (non-meat), Disodium Guanylate, Disodium Inosinate. Allergens: Wheat, Soy, Sesame (note sesame is considered a major allergen only in Canada)

Also note:

Johnny Rockets currently uses soybean oil for its fried foods.”


The verdict – the burger is pretty bland but has some serious home comfort skills going on. The bun is vegan and they don’t put Mayo on the burger – but I ask for it without mustard, as, well…. Mustard is gross.

I do have it with fried mushrooms and the manager tells me that every Johnny Rockets has a separate area for vegan and veggie food to be cooked.

BEST OF ALL – the sweet potatoes fries and APPLE PIE are vegan (if you have it without cream or ice cream) a burger and dessert! Heaven!

Although there’s none in the UK yet, I’m pretty sure with enough emails we can get one in London at the least!

Check the website for more details on branch locations.


Vegan Friendly Finds – Co-Op Dark Chocolate 

Okay UK people listen-up!
Get your butt to your nearest Co-operative shop and buy yourself a dark chocolate bar. Now!

 It’s 50% cocoa solids, dark, delightful and dreamy. 
Perfect for baking, scoffing or melting. Plus! While you’re there pick up co-ops awesome cruelty free washing powder, conditioner and soap.


Vegan Friendly Finds – Tesco Produce

Sorry for those of you overseas, but for my British readers I’ve found the list (2015 updated and all!) of the produce in Tesco’s that’s Vegan!

Yes I know genius! Imagine going shopping with the list and never having to second guess hidden ingredients! Amazing, time saving and life changing news for my poor husband who spends half his life reading the ingredients of packets for me. 

Anyway – here’s the link, so save, print and share.

LINK HERE! – scroll to the end of the page and click the vegan PDF. 


Vegan Friendly Find: Savanna Dry Cider

Today’s Vegan Friendly Find is – Savanna Dry Cider.


I’ve spoke before about my love of Corona beer, not only is it delicious (and I love Mexican food) BUT it’s vegan.

Finding out if your booze is vegan can be really difficult, and there’s nothing worse than that awkward feeling of standing at a bar and looking for something you know you can drink, whilst everyone looks at you like your strange.

Wine is off the menu, cocktails take molecular science to work out what’s in them and standing with a pint of beer in your hand, although delicious, looks, well – laddy.

In Britain drinking is a serious hobby. It’s not something you do to relax, most the time it’s a weekend full of alcohol you cram in before heading back to work on a Monday. And I say Amen! To that!

I used to drink a LOT more than I do these days, part of the cut down has been living in a muslim country for the last year and a bit, so you know alcohol is the last thing you tend to crave due to fear of being sent to jail for being drunk on the streets, and the other part has been this blog, which has made me revisit every part of my life and question if it is truly vegan or not.

Note: You can drink in selected bars and hotels in Qatar, but it’s crazy expensive!

But anyway, I’m writing this blog sat in a jazz bar in Qatar and it just so happens to be ladies night! I get two free drinks and 50% off all future drinks. A jazz version of Britney is playing and life seems grand.

But what to drink?


Cider is always a pretty safe bet, but Savanna Dry I’ve never heard of… Turns out this South African drink is delicious.

Dry, sweet and best of all totally vegan – look here: http://www.savanna.co.za/about.q?countryNamespace=uk

The website says for those too lazy to click…

Savanna Dry is a clear 100% apple cider in a unique see through bottle and made from the juice of real South African apples. 5% ABV and energy content of 244 kJ/100 ml.

Savanna Light is made from the same crushed apple goodness, but has a lower alcohol by volume percentage. 3.00% ABV and energy content of 168 kJ/100ml.

So What’s In It Then?Or more importantly, what’s not?
Savanna is GMO-free which means there is no traceability of genetically modified organisms (GM’s) in ingredients and final packed product.

Savanna’s allergen status – Savanna doesn’t contain any of the following allergens: gluten containing cereals, crustaceans, peanuts, shell fruits (nuts), celery, mustard, sesame seed, lecithin, eggs, fish, caseinate.

Fact: Savanna Dry is Vegan

So go ahead people – everybody in the club getting tipsy!


Vegan Friendly Find – Baskin Robbins Sorbets


I know it’s cold all over the world, but just in case you’re ever out with a group of people munching on something delicious looking that you can’t have – just grab yourself a Baskin Robbins.

Yes I’m aware that they are an ice cream chain so some people won’t like the idea of giving them money, but hey! I bet you shop at superstores that sell meat, or eat at restaurants that serve butter filled dessert (If you don’t do these things much respect to you).

Anyway, like most things that are unintentionally vegan you have to do your homework.

I’ve found a few ‘vegan friendly’ sorbets at the shop – such as the pink lemonade sorbet and citrus twist sorbet, but it involves reading the labels and googling the e-numbers.

Baskin Robbins website – https://www.baskinrobbins.com – helpfully doesn’t have sorbets listed so it really is a case of going into the shop and seeing what they have.

PLEASE NOTE – Baskin Robbins Sherbet flavours are not vegan (I made the mistake of not reading the label carefully and mistook sherbet for sorbet – yes I am that blind)


Fun Baskin Robbins fact for you –

John Robbins was heir to the Baskin Robbins ice cream empire, but he refused to partake in the family business.

Robbins became a vegan in his free-thinking adult years, and now avidly advocates a plant-based diet. He has help founded Earth Save International, an environmental advocacy organisation.



Sometimes these are going to pop up – as I’m learning along with you guys.

Today’s Unfriendly Vegan Find – Subway Veggie Patties



When I was a University Student and fairly new to Veganism, I visited my local Subway and inquired what was OK for me to eat.

The guy and girl behind the counter seemed really knowledgeable and told me what breads had dairy in them and what to avoid

They then told me that the product – Veggie Patty was suitable for vegans, as its held together with rice and oil, not dairy.

Looking back I was stupid and naive and should have gone back and checked this online, but I didn’t, and I continued to eat them.

When researching for my latest post about vegan chain options I was in the middle of writing how fabulous it is to have ‘an option’ at Subway and not just a vegetable sandwich when I stumbled across the ingredients.

Sure enough, they contain egg.

To be honest with you I feel really stupid and pretty sick. I mean how ridiculous of me not to check it? I check everything else in my life!

So yes. Lesson learnt. Subway Veggie Patties – Unfriendly Vegan Find.

I’m sure most of you know this, and don’t listen to the people who clearly don’t know that vegan means no eggs too. But I thought I would pop this up, just in case any of you like me have been told they are suitable for vegans.

We can but hope that Subway will one day modify this recipe so that we can enjoy it too!


Today’s Vegan Friendly Find – Mentos!

I can only apologies at how long it’s been since I last posted on here – but to be fair I have been very busy trying to save three lovely stray dogs in the Middle East! (More about that later!) So you can’t be to mad!

Last time I posted I promised to put my Top 5 chain restaurants and believe me, I have been eating out A LOT (I blame all of you for the weight gain of course!) So I will post that up soon.

But for today to ease us all back into this blogging malarkey – something simple, sweet and classic.

Today’s Vegan Friendly Find is Mentos!


It’s hard to find a readily available sweet that you can just pick up and munch on, so these are a god send! (Especially to anyone with low blood sugar or as a snack at the cinema)

Plus! As I use Lush Vegan Toothy Tabs instead of traditional Toothpaste so I’m always paranoid I have smelly breath, so pop a packet of mint in your bag and you’re good to go!

From my research – The flavoured mentos (mixed fruit) have sugar, glucose syrup, hydrogenated coconut oil, gellan gum, dextrin, natural and artificial flavor, gum arabic, and coloring inside/outside of it. (All Vegan friendly)

Mint mentos have almost the same ingredients except it has corn starch in it.

As per norm – the sugar used is from an unknown source – Some of you might be ok with this, others not. The choice is yours people! I will email and ask, but they don’t tend to get back to me in any rush.

I’ve been warned that some Mentos contain beeswax from different countries , so watch your labels!

Mentos say “The wax in the Mentos products which are imported and distributed by Stuart Alexander & Co. is carnauba wax which is derived from the palm tree.

We are not able to answer questions for Mentos products which do not state that they are imported and distributed by our company.”

Happy munching!